

Annual Council Briefing Note

Date: Monday 9 June 2014

Time: **4.00 pm**

Place: Council Chamber, Town Hall

For any further information please contact:

Mathew Metcalfe, Democratic and Electoral Services Officer

Telephone: 01865 252214

Email: fullcouncil@oxford.gov.uk

The meeting will also be available via a webcast. This means that people may choose to watch all or part of the meeting over the internet rather than attend in person. The webcast will be available to view on the City Council's website after the meeting.

1 ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2014/15

Councillor Dee Sinclair will Chair Council for this item. A proposer and seconder for the new Lord Mayor will be required.

2 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2014/15

The new Lord Mayor will Chair Council from this item onwards.

A proposer and seconder for the new Deputy Lord Mayor will be required.

3 APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2014/15

4 APOLOGIES

Advance apologies received from Councillor Oscar Van Nooijen and David Thomas.

5 ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE LORD MAYOR

6 ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

7 ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

8 APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2014/15

See pages 7-14 of the main agenda for the main report.

Appendix 2 of the report detailing Group nominations to Committees is attached to this Briefing Note.

9 REPORT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

The Leader will inform Council of the Board Members and their Portfolios.

10 COUNCIL SCHEME OF DELEGATION

The Chief Executive recommends Council to reaffirm for the Council Year 2014/15 its agreement to the Council's Scheme of Delegation set out in Section 5 of the Council's Constitution.

7 - 8



Agenda Item 8

Seat Nominations 2014-2015

Appendix 2

Committee	Labour	Liberal Democrat	Green
Licensing and Gambling Acts Committee	Laurence Baxter Mary Clarkson Colin Cook Van Coulter Steven Curran Mark Lygo James Fry Scott Seamons Dee Sinclair Rae Humberstone	Steve Goddard Mike Gotch Liz Wade	Dick Wolff Ruthi Brandt
Oxfordshire Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee	Susanna Pressel		
Appeals	All Members of Council		
General Purposes and Licensing Committee	Mary Clarkson Colin Cook Van Coulter Rae Humberstone Ben Lloyd- Shogbesan Mark Lygo Pat Kennedy	Andrew Gant Gwynneth Royce	Dick Wolff
Appointments Committee	Bob Price Gill Sanders Ed Turner Pat Kennedy	Jean Fooks	
Audit and Governance Committee	James Fry Roy Darke Mike Rowley Scott Seamons Van Coulter	Jean Fooks	David Thomas
Standards Committee	James Fry Susanna Pressel Gill Sanders Val Smith Bev Clack	Gwynneth Royce	Dick Wolff

Committee	Labour	Liberal Democrat	Green
East Area Planning Committee	Mary Clarkson Van Coulter Roy Darke Ben Lloyd- Shogbesan Michele Paule Farida Anwar	Mohammed Altaf Khan Gwynneth Royce	Ruthi Brandt
West Area Planning Committee	Anne-Marie Canning Bev Clack Colin Cook Bob Price John Tanner Oscar Van Nooijen	Andrew Gant Mike Gotch	Elise Benjamin
Planning Review Committee	Laurence Baxter Pat Kennedy James Fry Mark Lygo Dee Sinclair Ed Turner	Jean Fooks Steve Goddard	Sam Hollick
Scrutiny Committee	Van Coulter Roy Darke James Fry Ben Lloyd- Shogbesan Gill Sanders Val Smith Farida Anwar Louise Upton Tom Hayes	Mohammed Altaf Khan	Sam Hollick Craig Simmons
Disciplinary Committee	Bob Price Van Coulter Susanna Pressel		Elise Benjamin